top of page

My First IEP (Individualized Education Program)

Classroom management is always a battle. Even the most motivated, mature, directed students have off days. We ask these students to stay sitting still while we speak at the them all day - sometimes, things get tough.

Things especially get tough when a student struggles with things such as attention span, staying on tasks, raising their hand to speak, and only sharing when the comment is relevant and beneficial to the class. Many students who have special needs struggle with the things listed above.

I have observed my first class with an autistic child who has been balanced in a full-inclusion environment. The student has does not have a guide or assistant that travels with them from class to class, they are independent. I could tell after being in the classroom for several minutes that one student was particularly unique. It took a couple days to figure out logistics, but I finally got my hands on the students IEP.

Now, I have seen IEPs in class before, I have studied them and written about them, but there is something different about one that is actually written for a student you interact with...and I must say, hats off to the special education department at this school. The IEP that I read was great. There were specific measurable objectives that the teacher and student needed to meet. Specific things to work on, and easily attainable goals. They had all accommodations listed, and although it was a lot to read at first glance, it was actually very organized and informative.

Even though I don't want to be a special education teacher, I would be lying to myself if I said that special needs students wouldn't be walking into my classroom. Being a tutor I have dealt with students who have physical disabilities but I have never dealt directly with autism. Although I still have a lot to learn, I am much less anxious now that I have experienced my first IEP. It gave very easy objectives for a teacher like myself, who isn't very experienced in working with disabilities.

bottom of page